Oklahoma State University

 

 Current Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty Members

 

Dr. Allen Apblett

(405) 744-5943
apblett@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Industrial, Materials, and Environmental Chemistry.
  • Catalysis.
  • Metallo-organic Chemistry applied to development of new chemical processes, protective coatings, advanced materials and refining of metals.

alt

 

Dr. Darrell Berlin

(405) 744-5950
Kenneth.D.Berlin@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests

  • Heteroarotinoids in cancer chemotherapy
  • Synthetic organic chemistry
  • New methodology in organic synthesis
  • NMR spectroscopy
  • Organophosphorus chemistry

alt

 

Dr. Frank D. Blum

(405) 744-5920
fblum@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Polymers, Materials Science and Physical Chemistry
  • Interfacial behavior of polymers, polymer-surface interactions
  • polymer composites and nanocomposites,
  • polymer characterization
  • conducting polymers and polymer sensors

alt

 

Dr. Jeanne L. Bolliger

(405) 744-4904
jeanne.bolliger@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Catalysis
  • Self-assembly and non-covalent interactions as tools for organic synthesis
  • Supramolecular chemistry and dynamic combinatorial chemistry
  • Development of biomimetic catalysts
  • NMR spectroscopy including in situ NMR methods for mechanistic investigations

alt

 

Dr. Richard A. Bunce

(405) 744-5952
rab@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Development of new synthetic reactions
  • Heterocyclic and medicinal chemistry
  • Organic reaction mechanisms
  • Molecular orbital theory as applied to organic chemistry

alt

 

Dr. Gabriel A. Cook

(405) 744-5941
gabriel.cook@okstate.edu

Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Structural and functional determination of membrane proteins related to disease
  • Solution and solid-state NMR methodology
  • Drug binding studies for the development of therapeutics
  • Characterization of protein-protein interactions

alt

 

Dr. Ziad El Rassi

(405) 744-5931
elrassi@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • High performance liquid chromatography
  • High performance affinity chromatography
  • Biopolymer HPLC
  • Capillary electrophoresis and electrochromatography
  • Proteomics and glycomics
  • Enzyme immobilization
  • Environmental analytical chemistry


alt

 

Dr. John Gelder

(405) 744-7005
jgelder@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Application of microcomputers in the lecture and laboratory
  • Development of inquiry-based laboratory experiments
  • distance learning

alt

 

Dr. Christopher J. Fennell

(405) 744-5665
christopher.fennell@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Theoretical and Computational Chemistry
  • Solvation in biomolecular systems
  • Free energy calculations
  • Model development in classical molecular mechanics
  • Application developement for portable devices

 

Fennell whiteback 2017 2

 

Dr. Sadagopan Krishnan

(405) 744-5946
gopan.krishnan@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Group Page
  • Bioanalytical chemistry
  • Biocatalysis
  • Surface chemistry
  • Biofuel cells
  • Electrochemistry

gopan3

 

Dr. Barry K. Lavine

(405) 744-5945
bklab@chem.okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Swellable molecularly imprinted polymers for optical sensing
  • SPR & QCM for biosensors
  • Chemoinformatics and Bioinformatics
  • Image Analysis and Chemical Fingerprinting
  • Retention mechanisms in RPLC

alt

 

Dr. Nicholas F. Materer

(405) 744-8671
materer@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Interfacial chemistry and physics relevant to semiconductor devices
  • micro-mechanical machines, catalysis and sensors

alt

 

Dr. Smita Mohanty

(405) 744-6636

smita.mohanty@okstate.edu

Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Structure-function studies of both membrane and solubule proteins having critical biological function
  • High-resolution NMR spectroscopy and protein crystallography for protein structure determination
  • Computational chemistry for modelling, docking and small molecule library screening
  • Protein-ligand interaction studies by biochemical and biophysical methods
  • Molecular Biology including cloning and mutagenesis

alt

 

Dr. Toby L. Nelson

(405) 744-2482
toby.nelson@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Group Page
  • Design and synthesis of novel conjugated oligomers and polymers
  • Organic electronics
  • Supramolecular materials
  • New materials for sustainable energy and structure-property relationships

alt

 

Dr. Lionel Raff

(405) 744-5939
raff@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Theoretical studies of reaction dynamics and mechanisms
  • Quantum mechanical energy level calculations
  • Theoretical investigations of gas-solid interactions, gas-phase energy transfer, and reaction dynamics in the solid state.

alt

 

Dr. Ronald Rahaim

(405) 744-2483
rahaim@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Organic, Organometallic, and Medicinal Chemistry
  • Development of reagents, catalysts, and methodology that prepare biologically relevant scaffolds to be utilized in drug discovery

alt

 

Dr. Laleh Tahsini

(405) 744-4370

tahsini@okstate.edu

Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Ligand design to support high and low oxidation states of transition metals
  • Catalytic O-O and N-N bond cleavage and C-H functionalization.
  • Kinetic analysis and mechanistic studies.
  • Electrochemistry
  • Sustainable energy and hydrogen production.

alt

 

Dr. Sheryl Tucker

(405) 744-6368
sheryl.tucker@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Analytical Chemistry
  • Molecular Spectroscopy
  • Environmental Chemistry
  • Organized Media

alt

 

Dr. Yolanda Vasquez

(405) 744-6594
yolanda.vasquez@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Group Page
  • Development of inorganic nanoparticles for drug delivery and transfection
  • Nanoscience
  • Material Science
  • Tissue Engineering
  • Biomaterials

alt

 

Dr. Jimmie Weaver

 

(405) 744-3966
jimmie.weaver@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • organic chemistry, catalysis, material remediation
  • Development of synthetic methodology, in situ generation and utilization of reactive molecules, and the development of industrially friendly catalysts which facilitate the chemistry coming from our lab

alt

 

Dr. Charles Scott Weinert

(405) 744-6543
weinert@chem.okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Inorganic and organometallic chemistry of the main group elements
  • Synthesis and characterization of novel group 2, group 14 and group 15 complexes
  • Applications for the preparation of new electroluminescent and conductive materials

alt

 

Dr. Jeffery L. White

(405) 744-2109
jeff.white@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Physical chemistry of heterogeneous materials
  • Novel solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance methods
  • Polymer science and heterogeneous catalysis in solid acids

alt

 

Adjunct Faculty

 

 

 

Dr. Wouter Hoff

(405) 744-4449
wouter.hoff@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Microbiology
  • Molecular Genetics

 

alt

 

 

Dr. Tracy Quan

(405) 744-5917

tracy.quan@okstate.edu

Info. Page
Research Interests

 

  • Stable isotope geochemistry
  • Sedimentary geochemistry
  • Hydrocarbon reservoir characterization
  • Carbon, nitrogen, and oxygen cycling in aquatic environments, past and present
  • Organic and biomarker geochemistry

tracy headshot

 

Emeritus Faculty

 

 

 

Dr. Warren T. Ford


(Not currently accepting new students) wtford@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Polymer synthesis
  • Polymer characterization
  • Colloids, Gels, and liquid crystals
  • Heterogeneous catalysis
  • Carbon nanotubes and nanotechnology

alt

 

Dr. Mark Rockley


mark.rockley@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests
  • Design of FTIR Spectrometers for Passive Remote Sensing of Gases

alt

 

Dr. J. Paul Devlin

(405) 744-5935
devlin@okstate.edu
Info. Page
Research Interests

alt
 

 

 

Former Faculty members

Information on some Former Faculty Members can be found by clicking here.