Oklahoma State University



 Dr. John Gelder - 2010


gelderdistinguishedaward“Since I began teaching at OSU in 1977, not only have students changed but the technology available to students to learn and for teachers to teach has significantly changed. I find that the use of technology in my teaching is an exciting opportunity for me. The challenge is to use technology effectively in a way that makes learning more effective.”





Dr. John Gelder was awarded the 2010 Regents Distinguished Teaching Award. Seven other distinguished faculty were honored on September 10, 2010 at the OSU Convocation for their outstanding achievements. Dr. Gelder routinely changes his teaching style to relate best to his students; incorporating innovative technology to his lectures to boost student performance and interest in the course. He has an active collaborative research grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for the development of after class activities for chemistry students. These focus on learning through computer simulations.



Dr. RIchard Bunce - 2011


regents distinguished research award


Dr. Warren T. Ford - 2010 


 fordamalgamDr. Ford has been one of the most productive faculty members in the Department over many years since his appointment began in 1978. All of his efforts were recognized with the Regents Distinguished Research Award-2009 which was given for outstanding contributions in research. Warren has brought about $7M to the University in funding, has graduated 27 Ph.D. students and 14 M.S. students and has had 19 post-doctorals in his lab at OSU. His current group has two Ph.D. candidates. His research has generated over 220 publications in peer-reviewed journals, and he has 7 patents to his credit from work at OSU. Warren served as the lead investigator which brought the 600 MHz NMR unit and two other NMR units to OSU to establish the Statewide NMR Facility at the University. Funds from NSF, the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, the Keck Foundation and Conoco were awarded to initiate formation of the facility based on competitive evaluations. His past research has included the development of colloidal catalysts and is now focused on materials research.His group developed the first plastic films that diffract visible light to overcome the fragility of colloidal crystals in liquid dispersions. The work has been valued via appointments to several Editorial Boards including Reactive and Functional Polymers, Journal of Polymer Science A, Polymers for Advanced Technology, and Industrial & Chemical Engineering Research. Warren served as Chair of the Oklahoma EDGE [Economic Development Generating Excellence] Panel on Advanced Materials to advise the Governor, Legislature, and Higher Education. He has also held several positions in the American Chemical Society polymer area and was Chair of the Division of Polymer Chemistry in 1998-2000. Dr. Ford was a Fulbright Fellow with Dr. Gerhard Wegner at the Max Planck Institute for Polymer research in Germany in 1986-1986. He was Program Coordinator for the Oklahoma Network for Nanostructured Materials [Nanonet] funded by NSF-EPSCOR and the Oklahoma State Regents for higher Education. This involved 12 different Departments at OSU, OU, and the University of Tulsa. The cooperation achieved by this diverse group of scientists was a plus for Oklahoma. Congratulations to Warren!


Dr. El Rassi - 2011


Dr. Richard Bunce - 2012